glutton for punishment

pinterestPinterest is like crack to me. It may be due to my propensity to plan, or due to my slightly obsessive-compulsive tendencies (DH would argue that they are much more than “slight.” I really don’t know what he’s talking about. I would never — oh, look, that curtain is off by 1/16th of an inch. I must go fix it!).

Regardless of the reason, those little “pins” of ideas call to me. I have become a bit of a pin hoarder, if you will. Okay, maybe not that bad. But, still.

When I first joined Pinterest, I was still in the early stages of trying to conceive. I made myself a baby board because, well, that’s what people do. Happily, I posted anything and everything I could get my hands on: funny, geeky infant clothing (I did mention I am a geek, right?), baby furniture, nursery ideas (lots and lots of Classic Winnie the Pooh, because that is my dream nursery), etc. and so on.

Even after the excitement of becoming a new parent wore off and infertility treatments began, I kept pinning. Why? I haven’t a clue. It did much more harm than good. Those dreaded 2-week waits, and I would swear that I was experiencing pregnancy symptoms and, excited beyond belief, would start more “planning.”

Then my period would come, and that would be the end of that.

Well, until the next month…

It really is a vicious cycle. But, when Pinterest started allowing secret boards, you can bet I jumped all over that (no more people asking, “OMG, are you pregnant?!” every time a baby pin showed up on their feed). I’ve also gotten a lot better about the pins. I only post into it on rare occasions (I can’t help myself. There are some things that are just too gosh-darn cute not to save). And, instead of a public baby board, I have created a public infertility board. Similar to this blog, it gives me an outlet.

Has anyone else had this problem? I’m sure I can’t be the only one. And did you end up removing the boards, or did you just hide them, like me? Part of me thinks that it’s good to still pin occasionally, just to keep the belief alive that one day I’ll get to use all these awesome ideas… Just as long as I don’t get too obsessive about it. 😉

Oh, and for anyone who is interested, my infertility (Pinterest) board is below:

pinallthethings

Because reasons.

Leave a Reply

