my holistic journey

I mentioned in an earlier post that my dear husband (DH) and I decided to forgo further infertility treatments until we exhaust all avenues to get my body as baby-ready as possible.holistic1

To date, I have:

1. Lost 30 pounds

Ten of those pounds I lost twice – once before vacation, and once after vacation when I gained it back and had to lose it again. 😉 Seriously, though, I’m feeling better than I have in a while. More energy (and we work out like fiends six days a week!), better attitude, less brain-fog… the list goes on. While I’m not where I want to be, even this small improvement is a very positive thing, I think.

2. Gone gluten-and-casein free

We-ell… 99% gluten-free. It’s not so easy! But I honestly feel so much better when I am NOT eating gluten. And, no, I’m not doing this as part of the fad “gluten-free diet.” I have a legitimate intolerance to the stuff. I do NOT have celiac disease – and for that I am extremely grateful! But while gluten intolerance is on the mild end of the spectrum of gluten issues, there’s really something to it. Apparently it’s most common for people with an autoimmune disease (lucky us!). I’ve been doing immense amounts of research on it, and I’ll probably do a series of posts on gluten-intolerance, autoimmune disorders, and infertility. But, I digress.

3. Begun taking supplements

And I’m not talking about a couple of supplements. I’ve been seeing a licensed pharmacist in our area who has a holistic compounding pharmacy. He has been working with me to find a customized plan to fix many of the underlying issues I have that are linked to having hypothyroidism (low body temperature, acne/skin issues, things like that). I have to say, it’s really working well! I started with a body temp in the low 97s, and now I average 98.4-98.6! Huge improvement. My skin has been clearing up, as well, which is a plus. I mean, come on, who likes to be 30 and still have acne?

4. Started focusing on the positive

Let’s face it, one of the hardest parts of being infertile is keeping an optimistic outlook. So, that’s definitely something I’ve begun working on. When I start dwelling on the negatives, I force myself to think of things that make me happy and that I am blessed with (often going back to my post on ten ways i am blessed to remind me!)

That being said, I had my follow-up appointment with the pharmacist on Tuesday. He seemed really happy about the good results I am having, and we are going to add ovulation tests to make sure I am actually ovulating. My cycles are, in general, like clockwork, but that doesn’t necessarily equal ovulation. So, that starts this month. In the midst of all that, I’ll continue to work on the other points above. And, celebrating six years with my DH this week is just another reason to be blissfully happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

